Treat Yourself to Literary and Poetry Books!

Search This Blog for Authors, Publishers, Reviewers and Books

Loading...

Add Your Logo or Avatar to This New Book Review Reader List:

Thursday, July 2, 2015

Midwest Book Review Managing Editor Reviews The Frugal Editor

 In The Frugal Book Promoter, I advise that authors choose promotions and marketing tools that fit their title, their personalities, and their pocketbooks.  Recently I have also learned it's a good idea to be kind to oneself and adapt to the circumstances of one's life. The campaign I had planned for the release of the second edition of The Frugal Editor  in paperback is far more casual (and scattered!) than the one I had planned because my husband fell from our roof and broke his vertebrae (four of them!), So, as a full time caregiver,  I'm taking my own advice and doing a what we might call this a dribble campaign. Here is the latest review from Beth Cox the new managing editor of The Midwest Book Review.

The Frugal Editor
Carolyn Howard-Johnson
From the HowToDoItFrugally Series of books for writers
HowToDoItFrugally Publishing
www.howtodoitfrugally.com
ISBN: 9781505712117
 $17.95
Genre: Nonfiction/Writers/Marketing
288pp, 

Review by Beth Cox, Managing Editor of Midwest Book Review
Reprinted with Permission from her June newsletter, the Beth Cox Report

June's Book of the Month is about the writing and publishing trades.
Writing/Publishing books are regularly featured in the Jim Cox Report,
 so I rarely spotlight them here, but this one is exceptionally worthy:

Editing is the process of selecting and preparing written, visual, audible and film media used to convey information. The editing process can involve correction, condensation, organization, and many other modifications performed with an intention of producing a correct, consistent, accurate and complete work. The editing process often begins with the author's idea for the work itself, continuing as a collaboration between the author and the editor as the work is created. As such, editing can involve creative skills, human relations and a precise set of methods. There are various editorial positions in publishing. Typically, one finds editorial assistants reporting to the senior-level editorial staff and directors who report to senior executive editors. Senior executive editors are responsible for developing a product for its final release. The smaller the publication, the more these roles overlap. In the book publishing industry, editors may organize anthologies and other compilations, produce definitive editions of a classic author's works (scholarly editor), and organize and manage contributions to a multi-author book (symposium editor or volume editor). Obtaining manuscripts or recruiting authors is the role of an Acquisitions Editor or a commissioning editor in a publishing house. Finding marketable ideas and presenting them to appropriate authors are the responsibilities of a sponsoring editor. Copy editors correct spelling, grammar and align writings to house style. Changes to the publishing industry since the 1980s have resulted in nearly all copy editing of book manuscripts being outsourced to freelance copy editors.

The Frugal Editor: Do-It-Yourself Editing Secrets for Authors is a complete course of instruction under one cover. From editing query letters to editing final manuscripts to the editorial chores of marketing, The Frugal Editor covers the complete range of editorial tasks and responsibilities -- including common mistakes and errors to avoid. Thoroughly 'user friendly' from beginning to end, The Frugal Editor is ideal for the novice author, and would prove to be of immense value as an instructional reference resource for experienced authors, publishers, publicists, and freelance copy editors.


Bethany Cox
Managing Editor
The Midwest Book Review
http://www.midwestbookreview.com

----- 
The New Book Review is blogged by Carolyn Howard-Johnson, author of the multi award-winning HowToDoItFrugally series of books for writers. It is a free service offered to those who want to encourage the reading of books they love. That includes authors who want to share their favorite reviews, reviewers who'd like to see their reviews get more exposure, and readers who want to shout out praise of books they've read. Please see submission guidelines on the left of this page. Reviews and essays are indexed by genre, reviewer names, and review sites. Writers will find the search engine handy for gleaning the names of small publishers. Find other writer-related blogs at Sharing with Writers and The Frugal, Smart and Tuned-In Editor.

Monday, June 22, 2015

Thriller Recommended by US Review of Books

Four Pieces For Power
Book one in the Vendicatori Series
Author: Marc Estes
Author's Web site: marcestes.net
Publisher: Trafford
Genre: mystery/suspense/thriller
ISBN: 1490727140
Buy Book Link: getbook.at/vendicatori

Reviewed by Anita Lock originally for US Review of Books
 

"Both shared in the amazement of how two complete strangers could become such bitter enemies without even a single exchange of words."
 
Andrew Correo learns the truth about his deceased grandfather and the involvement he had with the Vendicatori, a powerful organization developed to protect the Correo family's fortune. But in order for Andrew to claim his inheritance as the next Correo heir, he must compete in a challenge against Robert Stavero, an unknown contender and master of disguises. The object of the challenge is for the winner to procure all four pieces of the puzzle that will reveal the "final destination, and the largest prize in the world." Questions remain whether or not Andrew can keep this perilous competition a secret from his sister and mother, as well as outwit his maleficent opponent.
 
Awarding winning writer Marc Estes has produced a suspenseful story that has a James Bond feel to it. The first in a series of Vendicatori novels, Estes' third person narrative is a rapidly paced page-turner filled with unhackneyed character scenes between his sister's upcoming wedding; the contest and Andrew's nerve-racking encounters with Robert, his maniacal antagonist; a bit of romance; and other supporting characters—a few that may seem harmless now but could easily turn into future villains in subsequent sequels. Aside of the constant influx of juxtaposed scenes, Estes not only draws readers into the plot's action, but also into the lives of a well-developed cast that goes beyond Andrew, Estes' principal character. Good examples are Brad whose mother and sister were brutally murdered and Jenna who has a thing for Andrew. Estes' thriller closes with a mind-boggling cliffhanger. Earmarked to be a best-seller, there is no doubt that Four Pieces For Power will keep readers on edge till the very end.

 
MORE ABOUT THE AUTHOR
-----
The New Book Review is blogged by Carolyn Howard-Johnson, author of the multi award-winning HowToDoItFrugally series of books for writers. It is a free service offered to those who want to encourage the reading of books they love. That includes authors who want to share their favorite reviews, reviewers who'd like to see their reviews get more exposure, and readers who want to shout out praise of books they've read. Please see submission guidelines on the left of this page. Reviews and essays are indexed by genre, reviewer names, and review sites. Writers will find the search engine handy for gleaning the names of small publishers. Find other writer-related blogs at Sharing with Writers and The Frugal, Smart and Tuned-In Editor.

Friday, June 12, 2015

Author Consultant Loves New Memoir

Title: The Crazy Floridan and the Birds...or the Search for
Feather Presents
Author: Jean Williams
Author Website: featherpresents.wordpress.com
Twitter: http://twitter.com/featherpresents
FB fan page: https://www.facebook.com/Featherpresents?fref=ts
Book trailer: N/A
ISBN:978-1511489256
Genre: Creative nonfiction (memoir written in 3rd person)

Reviewed by: Teresa Morrow

This book, The Crazy Floridian and the Birds..., gives the reader
insight from a woman whose purpose is about sharing love, pure
and simple. She shares her journey from childhood to adulthood
and seeking who she is and her place in the world while finding
what matters to her. It a heartfelt story that showcases love
for people as humans at its core as she incorporates her
discovering of bird watching and how it fills her with joy.


ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Jean Williams is an autistic woman who grew up the only child of
brilliant parents who never sought a diagnosis for her, seeing
her only as difficult, problematic and an under-achiever.
 Diagnosed as a young adult, Jean struggled for years with
issues of self-esteem, and never even hoped to find self-love.
 An unfulfilling career as a Software Engineer, and difficulties
making and keeping friendships added to her view of herself as a
failure.  Realizing finally that she never had to live up to the
ideals of her parents - and looking to find and live only toward
her own ideals has finally helped her to live her a life of
happiness.


ABOUT THE REVIEWER
Teresa Morrow, The Spiritual Author's Cheerleader, is a writer's coach and online book marketing consultant. She hosts "Inspiration Nation Radio" where she shares inspiration through the world of words. She is also the author of
Life Lessons from the Heart and Healing from Broken Trust: A Journey of Transformation,

-----
The New Book Review is blogged by Carolyn Howard-Johnson, author of the multi award-winning HowToDoItFrugally series of books for writers. It is a free service offered to those who want to encourage the reading of books they love. That includes authors who want to share their favorite reviews, reviewers who'd like to see their reviews get more exposure, and readers who want to shout out praise of books they've read. Please see submission guidelines on the left of this page. Reviews and essays are indexed by genre, reviewer names, and review sites. Writers will find the search engine handy for gleaning the names of small publishers. Find other writer-related blogs at Sharing with Writers and The Frugal, Smart and Tuned-In Editor.

Wednesday, June 10, 2015

Reviewer Says Poldark Has a Rival

Title: The Apothecary's Widow
Author: Diane Scott Lewis
Website: http://www.dianescottlewis.org
Genre: ​historical mystery
ISBN-13: ​978-1771453677
Buy at Amazon
Five-star review by Anita Davison
Format:Kindle and Print
 
MINI SYNOPSIS 
Who murdered Lady Pentreath? The year is 1781, and the war with the American colonies rages across the sea. In Truro, England Branek Pentreath, a local squire, has suffered for years in a miserable marriage. Now his wife has been poisoned with arsenic. Is this unhappy husband responsible? Or was it out of revenge? Branek owns the apothecary shop where Jenna Rosedew, two years a widow, delights in serving her clients. Branek might sell her building to absolve his debts caused by the war—and put her out on the street. Jenna prepared the tinctures for Lady Pentreath, which were later found to contain arsenic. The town’s corrupt constable has a grudge against Branek and Jenna. He threatens to send them both to the gallows. 

REVIEW
Reviewed by Anita Davison originally for Amazon and Historical Novel Review
Set in 18th century Cornwall, all Jenna Rosedew’s husband left her was an adolescent apprentice and a struggling apothecary shop. When Lady Pentreath’s death is deemed murder, Jenna is the first person to come under suspicion as she prepared all the dead woman’s medicine. But why would Jenna poison someone at the risk of her own livelihood? When Branek Pentreath has reason to call on Jenna, he informs her is he is putting up the rent of her shop, or does he too think she killed his wife? Jenna finds herself attracted to the man, but any connection between them could be construed as motive for murder.

Ms Scott Lewis’ portrayal of a couple trying to come to terms with conflicting emotions in an unsympathetic setting is thoroughly enjoyable. Jenna is no simpering female with no clue as to where to turn, she has her own methods of protecting her livelihood, and being accused of killing one of her clients isn’t something she is going to accept without a fight.

Branek Pentreath is also gravely misunderstood. He is not simply a heartless, ruthless mine owner, but a man of principal struggling with a failing business, suspicion from his neighbours and a growing attraction to a woman he shouldn’t even have noticed.
Ms Scott brings all the threads of this heart-warming story together into a satisfactory ending. I hope to hear more about Branek and Jenna.

 
-----
The New Book Review is blogged by Carolyn Howard-Johnson, author of the multi award-winning HowToDoItFrugally series of books for writers. It is a free service offered to those who want to encourage the reading of books they love. That includes authors who want to share their favorite reviews, reviewers who'd like to see their reviews get more exposure, and readers who want to shout out praise of books they've read. Please see submission guidelines on the left of this page. Reviews and essays are indexed by genre, reviewer names, and review sites. Writers will find the search engine handy for gleaning the names of small publishers. Find other writer-related blogs at Sharing with Writers and The Frugal, Smart and Tuned-In Editor.

Monday, June 8, 2015

Roadmap Girl Buzzes About Young Adult Fiction

Title: Silence (Sequel 1 to “Hush,” Lakeview Novel Series)
Author: Stacey R. Campbell
Publisher: Green Darner Press (May 28, 2015)
Genre: Young Adult Fiction
ASIN: B00YGCAR1K
Where to buy: Amazon Kindle ($.99)
 
 
Reviewed by Marlan Warren originally for Roadmap Girl’s Book Buzz
 
This quick, lively and poignant read explores that special longing felt by many adopted children: to know their biological parents. In this novelette sequel to Hush, Blakely Henry is now a graduate of Lakeview Academy who juggles her new life as queen of a fictional Mediterranean country with college and her hunky fiancĂ©. Her adoptive American parents are on hand to help out, and it's touching how supportive they are of Blakely's deep need to meet her biological father. Stacey R. Campbell has meticulously crafted characters who come to life on the page so well that you feel you know them. She keeps the tone light, and is unafraid of tackling painful memories or events that come up as Blakely's search intensifies. Details such as the excellent pasta dishes the castle cook can whip up for her pleasure enhance the pleasures of this story which has one foot in "fairy tale" and the other in "reality."
 
What makes this journey so much fun is how much everyone involved cares. Blakely's whole family plus her fiancĂ© accompany her on this tough journey which leads them through some beautiful parts of France. Silence is glamorous fun (how much easier our lives would be if we all had our own "royal stylist"), and at the same time, it is down to earth about skeletons in family closets and how families choose to deal with them. It can be read as a stand-alone, although it might be fun to go back and read Hush to find out how Blakely found out that she is the only surviving blood relative of an assassinated monarchy of a country that now needs her help. 
 
About the Author:
 
Stacey R. Campbell lives in the Seattle area with her husband and three daughters. She is a graduate of the University of Washington and a dyslexic writer who believes there is no such thing as a bad reader. She's also the author of the Young Adult Lakeview Novel Series (Hush, Whisper and the upcoming Scream), as well as the MG swashbuckler Arrgh! .
 

-----
The New Book Review is blogged by Carolyn Howard-Johnson, author of the multi award-winning HowToDoItFrugally series of books for writers. It is a free service offered to those who want to encourage the reading of books they love. That includes authors who want to share their favorite reviews, reviewers who'd like to see their reviews get more exposure, and readers who want to shout out praise of books they've read. Please see submission guidelines on the left of this page. Reviews and essays are indexed by genre, reviewer names, and review sites. Writers will find the search engine handy for gleaning the names of small publishers. Find other writer-related blogs at Sharing with Writers and The Frugal, Smart and Tuned-In Editor.

Tuesday, May 26, 2015

An Alzheimers Memoir: Pathos, Humor, Helpful

Title: Somebody Stole My Iron
Author: Vicki Tapia
Publisher: Praeclarus Press (2014)
  
Learn more        
Paperback: 344 pages
Genre: Memoir
  • Family
  • Relationships
  • Aging
  • Eldercare
ISBN-10: 1939807077
ISBN-13: 978-1939807076
Purchase: Amazon Barnes and Noble Praeclarus Press
Available in paperback and Kindle editions

 
A WONDERFUL book!
Reviewed by Susan Zoucha originally for Amazon
 
My mother started having memory issues about seven years ago. I've read a LOT of books on Alzheimer's and dementia and I've gained a lot of knowledge. I've read so much in fact, that when I came across this book I was thinking...No thank you. I was feeling sort of burnt out on the whole topic. Vicki caught my attention with the perfect title "Somebody Stole My Iron." It made me giggle and right away I felt like Vicki SURELY must have met my mother.
 
Now for the reasons I love this book:
 
1. It's not like any of the many others I've read. It reads like a great novel that even people who are not dealing with disease will enjoy. (Vicki, you are an amazing writer. Stick with it.)
2. The tips are wonderful and I didn't feel like I was getting them out of a textbook.
3. It was the first book I've read that actually talked candidly about the not-so-sweet people that end up with this disease! I love my mom with all my heart, but she has never been the sweet little old lady we often hear about. She's opinionated and cranky and it's only getting worse.
4. I felt like I had my own personal support group. I was in my own place with a dear friend (whom I've never met, lol) who understood what I was dealing with. Invaluable.
 
I laughed, I giggled, I sobbed, I softly cried, and I learned a lot.
​ 
One last thing, I loved the list of “Dos and Don'ts” in the back of the book that Vicki shared. I ran copies for all seven siblings and for my dad and had them laminated. They are a great reminder, so don't miss them!  

About the Author:
 
Somebody Stole My Iron is the first book-length publication for author Vicki Tapia, who in a former life, wrote for lactation journals. She retired from her career as a lactation consultant to direct her energies toward full-time writing. She is currently at work on a new book, which will focus on women’s issues at the turn of the 20th century. 

Find Vicki on Facebook, Twitter and Goodreads


-----
The New Book Review is blogged by Carolyn Howard-Johnson, author of the multi award-winning HowToDoItFrugally series of books for writers. It is a free service offered to those who want to encourage the reading of books they love. That includes authors who want to share their favorite reviews, reviewers who'd like to see their reviews get more exposure, and readers who want to shout out praise of books they've read. Please see submission guidelines on the left of this page. Reviews and essays are indexed by genre, reviewer names, and review sites. Writers will find the search engine handy for gleaning the names of small publishers. Find other writer-related blogs at Sharing with Writers and The Frugal, Smart and Tuned-In Editor.

Sunday, May 24, 2015

Tales2Inspire ~ The Ruby Collection - Created by Lois W. Stern

Tales2Inspire ~ The Ruby Collection (Gifts of Compassion):
ISBN-10: 149594008X
ISBN-13: 978-1495940088
Genre:
Inspirational, Motivational, Non-fiction, Short Story Collection




REVIEWS


True Stories of Inspiration, Compassion and Love
By Gail Sobotkin
I have read each story and can honestly say I don't have a favorite. Each and every story touched my heart deeply. If you ever wondered what it would be like to live in a world where people and animals are treated with compassion, kindness and love, where the human spirit rises up again and again to meet seemingly impossible challenges, where faith triumphs over despair, where young children and abused animals teach adult humans life lessons, where the homeless are treated with respect and compassion, you must read The Ruby Collection, an amazing anthology of 14 true stories that will inspire you to live your own life with an open heart--- despite, or perhaps because of, whatever difficulties you may face.
Compassion is a gift that keeps on giving; it changes the giver, recipient, and all those who witness the compassionate act. It makes the world a better, kinder place and when delivered with love, has the power to transform the globe one person, one animal at a time.
The Ruby Collection makes a great gift for children and adults. Treat yourself to a copy and buy one for your friends, colleagues and relatives. Ask them to read the book then pass it on to an institution such as a library, hospital or school so that the stories will be spread far and wide, planting seeds of inspiration, compassion and love.


Inspiring 
By Shauna L Bowling
Freelance Writer/Copy Editor
. . . a book of inspiration that uplifts the reader with each story. From human/animal spiritual connections to human/human connections, these true stories of courage, love, and strength are proof that good exists in the world. We can and do overcome the odds each and every day. If you have any doubts about the power of love, read this book. All it takes is one person to reach out to make positive changes in someone's life.
I highly recommend this book to readers of all ages. It just may change your life!

Another Chicken Soup for the Soul
Warmly recommended, By Bani Sodermark
Reviewer for Book Pleasures and Amazon Vine Voice Reviewer

This is a feel good book documenting a collection of true stories that involve genuine empathy and kindness to other living beings including oneself. It arose out of a writing contest by an organization called "Authors Helping Author" and includes the best contributions that were submitted. The result is a very readable and well written book enshrined in the symbol of the ruby which stands for kindness and compassion.
That which is most appealing about this collection of stories is that the kindness shown at one instance of time is nearly always repaid in some way or other, forging deep and lasting bonds as the protagonists walk their life paths in tandem with one another. In some cases, they may experience a total reversal of a bodily malfunction as in the case of the first story, in which a man took care of a wounded eagle, unable to fly and nursed it to wellness. Later on, he was afflicted with cancer and he is convinced that dream conversations with his pet eagle, supplemented with chemo, was the cause of his total recovery.
A second story documents the success of a program called "Labs`n Life" in which dysfunctional children with learning and other problems are made to train Labradors. The interaction with these intelligent and loving animals, miraculously opens up these children and helps them integrate into the mainstream.
The theme of working with animals continues with the rehabilitation stories of Dusty the horse and Rae the dog who are restored to their playful selves and fulfil memorable relationships with their caregivers.
A few of the stories will touch you deep down inside. There is the erstwhile convict, Ray, who after years of confrontation with the bullying and sadistic warden of the penitentiary that he had occupied since his late teens, helped set fire to it. The warden was changed to one who had a record of successfully rehabilitating dreaded inmates and the whole atmosphere of the place changed as the convicts applied their energies to study and vocational training. There were no more incidents of arson or otherwise and our friend, Ray, after he was released was able to successfully land a job, get married and raise a family.
There is the holocaust survivor, who neutralized the actions of local politicians by going out with his own message of peaceful coexistence, ultimately reaching out to millions.
Another story that I will find difficult to forget is the story of a young African American black belt karate champion on the karate circuit, who it seems always acted rough if he or his team lost. It turned out that he had dedicated his life to saving children in the roughest quarters of Miami from a life of crime, by loading as many as possible into a van that was to take them to the tournament. If he did not win, he would have to borrow the money for the gas home.
There is the story of a former citizen of Rwanda, who returned to his homeland after the genocide and helped many people work their way out of poverty using his engineering skills and thus finding the way to his true calling. . . . 
Other inspiring stories include that of a young woman who appeared in the Guinness Book of Records after running seven marathons in seven continents. There is also the unusual story of window cleaners outside a hospital dressing up as children's heroes, e.g. Batman to cheer up children suffering from debilitating diseases.
The length of the manuscript is optimal, not too long, not too short.
This book, in my opinion, the best so far, in the Tales 2 Inspire series, created by Editor, Lois W. Stern. The storytelling is chiseled and evocative. . . .  One can never read too many of such stories, of seeing the way love and spirit redefine priorities and guide the human race out of black holes of its own making.

We Need More Love and Kindness
By Mommy to Twins
Today, the news is full of negative stories. We need more positivity and compassion in our lives. In fact, the research supports that "extending compassion toward others biases the brain to glean more positive information from the world, something called the 'carryover effect.' And compassionate action--such as giving some of one's own earnings to charity--also activates pleasure circuits, which some people call 'the warm glow.'
These heartfelt stories of compassion, love, and kindness, help us to know that there are good people in the world who live their life with an open heart. They provide the necessary inspiration we need to live our own lives more compassionately. It reminds us that it really takes just one person to make a real difference in the life of another. These are stories that should be shared with everyone.

Warm Feeling
by rod digruttolo
Published author, Group Leader for the Sarasota Writers Group 
Tales of compassionate souls are always heartfelt even if they are something we do not see often enough. The Ruby Collection of Tales2Inspire presents a group of such stories that keep warm feelings bubbling in your heart for months to come.
From abused animals to frightened children, the gifts of human and animal alike jump off the page and embrace the reader. From the furthest corners of the world, injured eagles; horses destined for the slaughterhouse; a family dealing with the death of a wife and mother; children in hospital frightened while dealing with terrible pain and patients facing their fears, feel the compassion of people and creatures around them.
Fourteen stories of courage, compassion and love grace the pages of this wonderful tome. A must read for all.

Gifts of Compassion
By Michael Monji 
Tree Whisperer, Amazon Vine Voice Reviewer
On a scale of 1 to 5, this series of Tales2Inspire books is a whopping TEN! This particular book will inspire you to never give up. The courage that these people showed is unbelievable. When you think time are tough for you, then you need to read this book. Your problems and worries will fade away. Now go out an buy all four books.

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Click on any link or copy and paste its URL into your browser.

Tales2Inspire website

Facebook page

Twitter

Book Trailer
https://www.youtube.com/user/WinningTales

Amazon author page

Buy here

http://www.amazon.com/Tales2Inspire-The-Ruby-Collection-Compassion/dp/149594008X/ref=pd_rhf_dp_p_img_1



----- The New Book Review is blogged by Carolyn Howard-Johnson, author of the multi award-winning HowToDoItFrugally series of books for writers. It is a free service offered to those who want to encourage the reading of books they love. That includes authors who want to share their favorite reviews, reviewers who'd like to see their reviews get more exposure, and readers who want to shout out praise of books they've read. Please see submission guidelines on the left of this page. Reviews and essays are indexed by genre, reviewer names, and review sites. Writers will find the search engine handy for gleaning the names of small publishers. Find other writer-related blogs at Sharing with Writers and The Frugal, Smart and Tuned-In Editor.